21 November, 2018

GB Men receive The Bill McGowran Award

GB Men’s Wheelchair Basketball Team accept The Bill McGowran Award at the 2018 Sport Journalists’ Association Awards.

The celebrations continue for the GB Men’s Wheelchair Basketball team as their historic World Championships win is recognised at the 2018 Sports Journalists’ Association Awards.

Representatives of the GB team, who historically brought home the World Championship title this summer, attended the Tower of London awards ceremony on Thursday 6 December 2018.

The prestigious Award, which recognises achievement in para sport, has a glittering roll of honour featuring legendary names including David Weir, Tanni Grey-Thompson and last year’s recipients Alfie Hewett and Hannah Cockcroft.

GB’s Jim Palmer, Martin Edwards and James MacSorley received their award from incoming British Paralympics Association’s CEO Mike Sharrock. Alongside the GB Men, Menna Fitzpatrick and Jen Kehoe were also recognised with the Bill McGowran Award.

The GB Men’s Team have been recognised by the Sports Journalists’ Association Awards twice before in 1997, following their Paralympic Silver Medal in Atlanta and in 2002 when they secured silver medal at the World Championships.

Commenting on the team’s success GB’s #6 James Macsorley said:

“It has been a phenomenal year for the GB Men, winning the World Championships in Hamburg was a moment that I, as an athlete, will never forget. It was a team earned title, and one which we dug deep and worked hard to win. We were single minded in our ambition to secure GB’s first World Championship gold and it was an incredible feeling.

“It is an honour to receive this award on behalf of the GB Men’s team. We cannot thank the press and sports journalists enough for their support and belief in our team throughout the tournament this summer.”

British Wheelchair Basketball’s Performance Director, Jayne Ellis, said “We are immensely proud of all the players, coaches and staff who work tirelessly together to achieve our shared ambition, receiving this award for our men’s team is a fitting end to a spectacular year.”

Website Advert - Schools and Colleges - Inclusive Zone Basketball