Women’s Premier League

BWB’s Women’s Premier League is the first para-sport professional league in the UK, and the first of its kind for women’s wheelchair basketball in the world.

The Women’s Premier League will be home to the world’s best women’s wheelchair basketball players, the introduction of the league – which will begin its inaugural season in January 2022 – is a game-changing moment for the sport.

Cardiff Met Archers, East London Phoenix, Loughborough Lightning and Worcester Wolves will contest the inaugural season from December 2021 to May 2022, bringing to life the fast-paced drama of this highly compelling team sport to new audiences across the UK and beyond.

This exciting new competition will see each team play each other three times in the league, with the Premier League finals behind held at the 2021/22 BWB National Championships.

The creation of the Women’s Premier League is integral to British Wheelchair Basketball’s five-year strategy, which set out bold targets of delivering a Professional Domestic League, developing a world- class high-performance system and doubling participation in the sport.